Cooperative Extension Distinguished Public Service Award

The Distinguished Public Service Award is presented at the December Faculty/Staff meeting to an extension service professional who has contributed significantly to the economic health and well-being of the citizens of South Carolina. An Extension Service Selection Committee reviews the nominations and recommends the recipient for this award.

Starting in 2002, each recipient receives a $2500 award, along with a wooden plaque. The funds are allocated from the University Foundation through the Alumni Association.

Tony Melton accepting the Distinguished Public Service Award
Andy Rollins accepting the Distinguished Public Service Award from Clemson's President
Andy Rollins accepting the Distinguished Public Service Award from Clemson's President
Past Recipients
1982Dr. W.A. TinsleyAgricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
1983Mr. T.J. BrysonCounty Extension Chairman, Greenwood County
1984Mr. William D. WitherspoonCounty Extension Chairman, Horry County
1985Mr. Rowland AlstonCounty Extension Chairman, Sumter County
1986Mr. Barrett LawrimoreCounty Extension Chairman, Charleston County
1987Dr. Lawrence H. HarveyExtension Specialist, Agronomy
1988Mr. James S. Jones, Jr.County Extension Chairman, Abbeville County
1989Mr. John D. RidleyExtension Specialist, Horticulture
1990Dr. James H. PalmerExtension Specialist, Agronomy
1991Mrs. Carolyn TolsonCounty Extension Chairman, Lancaster County
1992Mr. Charles V. PrivetteProfessor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
1993Dr. Rose J. DavisExtension Specialist, Home Economics
1994Mr. Randall P. GriffinProfessor, Entomology
1995Dr. Harold M. HarrisProfessor of Agricultural and Applied Economics
1996Dr. Christopher M. SieverdesProfessor of Agricultural and Applied Economics
1997Mr. James M. SweeneyCounty Extension Director (Chesterfield, Dillon, Marlboro)
1998Mrs. Joyce ChristenburyExtension Specialist, Family and Youth Development
1999Dr. Johnny JordanProfessor, Agricultural Economics
2000Dr. Terry SudduthExtension Specialist, Animal and Veterinary Sciences
2001Mrs. Julia A. BrockCounty Director, Kershaw County
2002Dr. George KesslerProfessor, Forest Resources
2003Mrs. Elizabeth HoyleProfessor, Food Science
2004Dr. Jack WhetstoneProfessor, Aquaculture, Fisheries and Wildlife
2005Mr. Robert FranklinCounty Extension Agent, Colleton County
2006Mr. Morris WarnerCounty Extension Agent, Oconee County
2007Dr. Jay ChapinDirector, Edisto Research and Education Center
2008Dr. Greg YarrowProfessor, Forestry and Natural Resources
2009Dr. John MuellerDirector, Edisto Research and Education Center
2010Dr. Bruce MartinProfessor, Turfgrass Pathology, Pee Dee Research and Education Center
2011No Winner