Roaring 10 award winner Brianna Apple Woodsby ‘05

Brianna Apple Woodsby ‘05

Brianna Woodsby is a current student in the MBA program at Clemson. Her loyalty to the University is very evident in her endeavors as President of the Spartanburg Clemson Club, an active member of the Junior League of Spartanburg, and an IPTAY representative. In addition to her Clemson endeavors, she also serves as chairman of the advisory board for the Kappa Delta chapter at Wofford College. With a degree in Language and International Trade, she holds the position of International Trade Manager with AFL. A member of Spartanburg Young Professionals and the United Way Young Leaders Society, it is evident this nominee truly upholds the values of the Roaring 10.

Roaring 10 recipient Tanner James Smith ‘11

Tanner James Smith ‘11

Tanner Smith played on the Clemson basketball team for four years and became the first player in Clemson history and only player in the ACC for 2012 to combine +10 points, +5 rebounds, and +4 assists per game for a season. He currently plays in the MHP RIESEN Professional Basketball team in Germany. Aside from his athletic accomplishments, he started “Tanner’s Totes,” a non-profit company helping teens cope with long-term hospital care all over the country.

Roaring 10 award winner Benjamin Thomas Miskelly ‘11

Benjamin Thomas Miskelly ‘11

Benjamin Miskelly was elected as Nashville Area Clemson Club’s President, this young man has demonstrated his true pride to the Clemson name. This candidate is very active in his community—working with Hermitage Hills Baptist Church as a Youth Leader and LifeGroup Co-Leader, with “Rebuilding Together Nashville” on the Board of Directors, and as a Clemson Representative with the ACC/SEC Leadership Council. Holding a Landscape Architecture degree from Clemson in 2011, he currently works as an Urban Planner and Graphic Designer with the Metropolitan Nashville Planning Department.

Roaring 10 award winner Victoria Watson Longshore ’05

Victoria Watson Longshore ’05

Victoria Longshore served as Clemson’s Young Alumni President in 2011, this honoree has demonstrated her exceptional advocacy and support for Clemson University. During her time as a member of the Richmond Clemson Club, she has organized many events to help the University, as well as those around her. Since her days on the Student Alumni Council, she has been committed to the Clemson Alumni Association. In her community, she serves on the Hospitality Committee within her church and works hard to coordinate several events in support of Virginia Special Olympics. She truly embodies what it means to be a Tiger.

Roaring 10 award winner Joseph Nicholas Lane ’03

Joseph Nicholas Lane ’03

Joseph Lane has upheld our core values of honesty, integrity, and respect. Recently promoted to Human Resource Director for Milliken & Company, this young man has become the youngest in the history of the company. This nominee continues to show his loyalty to the University by serving on the Student Affairs Advisory Board and working closely with the Michelin Career Center, offering advice on how to make Clemson students competitive in today’s professional environment and ensuring current students find jobs each year. In his community, he works on the Board of Directors for the Blood Connection. He was also recently elected as the Chairman of the Spartanburg County Republican Party, again the youngest in the history of the organization.

Roaring 10 award winner Steven Epps '08

Steven Epps ’08

Steven Epps is currently serving as President of the MBA Alumni Society, our next young alumnus is proud to show his loyalty to Clemson and the Alumni Association.  He remains active with the University as an IPTAY member, serving on the Alumni Council, the Greenville Luncheon Planning Committee, and as a Greenville Young Alumni Member. He remains active in his community sitting on two committees for Greenville’s young professional associations, PULSE, and was recognized as volunteer of the month for July 2013.

Roaring 10 award winner Shaun W. Cranford ‘03

Shaun W. Cranford ‘03

Shaun Cranford has shown his commitment to Clemson through his involvement with the Columbia Clemson Club. Under Shaun’s leadership the club has seen increased membership, added new events, and has raised over $10,000 in scholarships for Richland County students.  Professionally, Shaun is regarded as one of the top attorneys in his field through his practice at The Cranford Law Firm.   In only a few years, Shaun has built a client base that consists of over 100 Homeowner Associations through the Southeast.

Roaring 10 recipient William Richard Cathcart ’05

William Richard Cathcart ’05

William Cathcart has a well-established global reputation as a journalist, presidential advisor, and entrepreneur; this candidate has truly shown he holds the determined spirit of a Clemson Tiger. In 2010, he was awarded the first Distinguished Leadership Medal for Journalistic Excellence presented by the United States Business Institute. His articles have been featured on many prestigious news outlets including The Daily Beast, Anderson Cooper 360, The National Review Online, Georgian Journal,, the Buenos Aires Herald, and As Managing Editor of the Charleston Mercury, he has had the privilege of interviewing many world leaders. He also worked as media advisor and speechwriter to the President of Georgia (the country). He continues to work in Georgia in business development and as producer for the country’s largest independent media company. In his philanthropic endeavors, he has become a leader in advocating for Cystic Fibrosis patients.

Roaring 10 recipient Michael Blake Berry '06

Michael Blake Berry ’06

Michael Berry has made quite the impact on his community through his teaching endeavors. Not only was he named 2011 Teacher of the Year at Pendleton High School, but the South Carolina Association of Agricultural Educators also selected him as the Outstanding Young Teacher.  He was named Outstanding Young Agri-Science Educator in the Southern States and on of the top six in the nation for 2013.  Adding to his long list of achievements, he was recently elected President of the South Carolina Association of Agricultural Educators and President of the historic Pendleton Farmers Society. This Agriculture Education graduate has brought Thomas Green Clemson’s vision of blending education and science together.

Roaring 10 award winner Odessa Sirman Armstrong ’06

Odessa Sirman Armstrong ’06

Odessa Armstrong has been described as having a “good for all” mentality rather than a “good for one.” Her dedication to service makes her an ideal candidate for the Roaring 10. She currently serves on the College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences Alumni Board and stays engaged with the Clemson Black Alumni Committee. Currently a member of the Emerging Leaders Development Program in Washington, DC, she works hard to distinguish herself as a professional, while working to serve and inspire others.