Clemson Medallion

The Thomas Green Clemson Medallion honors the founder of Clemson and is the highest public honor which may be conferred by Clemson University. The Clemson Medallion recognizes an individual who has demonstrated a long and sustained commitment and significant service to Clemson University.

The Clemson Medallion was conceived in 1979 and approved by the Board of Trustees in 1980. The naming of the award honors the founder of Clemson University, Thomas Green Clemson, who did much to focus state and national attention on scientific education and the advancement of agriculture. 

2016 Clemson Medallion Awards Presentation

The 2016 Clemson Medallion Awards Presentation was held on Saturday, May 28 at the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts.

This year’s honorees are President Emeritus Jim Barker and Dr. Jim Bostic. Click the images below to watch their tribute videos. Click to learn more about each Clemson Medallion recipient and click here to view photos of the 2016 Clemson Medallion Awards Presentation.

Clemson Medallion Video Thumbnail - Jim Barker

Clemson Medallion Video Thumbnail - Jim Bostic Jr

Dr. Jerry Reel, HA '00

Dr. Jerry Reel, HA ’00

Clemson’s historian since 2002, Jerry Reel has quite a history with the university himself. His career at Clemson went from potentially short-lived to one as honored professor and academic leader for 50 years. The New Orleans native began putting down his roots in Clemson when, shortly after earning his bachelor’s degree in art history and literature […]

Smyth McKissick '79

Smyth McKissick ’79

Smyth McKissick has played many roles in his association with Clemson University through the years: student, alumnus (having graduated in 1979 with a Bachelor of Science in administrative management), benefactor and trustee. University officials have now bestowed the school’s highest honor on the Greenville native. McKissick has been engaged with the university continuously. He has been […]

Thomas B. McTeer ’60

Thomas B. McTeer ’60

William Shakespeare said, “When words are scarce they are seldom spent in vain,” and Thomas B. McTeer’s more than 35 years of service to Clemson as a man of few words but great action are a testament to this statement. And to think this longtime Tiger fan almost became a Gamecock. McTeer was set on […]

Thomas B. McTeer ’60

Joseph D. Swann ’63

When he took part in student government’s efforts to welcome Harvey Gantt to Clemson in 1963, Joseph D. Swann demonstrated the self-discipline and leadership skills he would later use to help guide the University to national and international acclaim. A Clemson University trustee for 23 years and two-term vice chair of the board, Swann demonstrated […]

Past Recipients
1981Thomas M. Hunter ‘09
Frank J. Jervey ‘14
Senator J. Strom Thurmond ‘23
1982Wofford B. Camp ‘16
Frank J. Howard
1983J. Wilson Newman ‘31
Robert C. Edwards ‘33
1984W. Wright Bryan ‘26
Walter T. Cox ‘39
1985Robert R. Coker
James C. Self
1986C. Calhoun Lemon, Sr.
Charles R. Wood ‘43
1987Robert S. Campbell, Jr. ‘37
Paul W. McAlister ‘41
1988George H. Aull ‘19
Louis P. Batson, Jr. ‘48
1989Sherwood E. Liles, Jr. ‘27
Philip H. Prince ‘49
1990William G. DesChamps, Jr. ‘38
Milton W. Holcombe ‘53
1991Buck Mickel
R. Roy Pearce ‘41
Max Lennon
1992George J. Bishop III ‘52
Wilson C. Wearn ‘41
1994Warren H. Owen ‘47
Taze L. Senn ‘39
1997Frank S. Barnes, Jr. ‘42
Earle E. Morris ‘49
2000Lawrence M. Gressette, Jr. ‘54
2009George Bennett
Bill Hendrix
2012Tom McTeer
Joe Swann